The village of Neochori [meaning new village] was established approximately in the late 15th century and is cited as one of the Mademochoria. Its name has remained the same for centuries. The Turks called it “Yenikoÿ” [new village] and the Slavs “Novoselo” [also new village]. Some of the residents are originally from areas near Volos and Katerini.
The oldest clue to the existence of Neochori is a sale agreement from 1640 that is kept at the Iviron monastery in Agion Oros.
Neochori was actively involved in the Greek War of Independence of 1821, under Emmanuel pappas and T. Karatasos.
Points of reference for visitors to Neochori are the parish church of Agios Georgios (1858), the old stone elementary school building from 1928 (today, the Community Services Building), and the water fountains in the village. Neochori is full of greenery, surrounded by great forested expanses with chestnut, beech and oak trees that create a unique environment, while the main asphalt road snakes its away across the entire settlement.